Aleromod.com

Aleromod.com (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/forum.php)
-   How-To Archive & FAQ (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   How To Change Front And Rear Rotors And Brake Pads (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27798)

Xtrm 07-02-2009 12:10 PM

How To Change Front And Rear Rotors And Brake Pads

I would just like to know the easiest way to change front and rear rotors and brake pads, I have never done this before but I would like to know how to so I can save some $$

99alerogirl 07-02-2009 12:37 PM

cake...remove wheel, undo the 2 bolts for the caliper, and the 2 for the mounting bracket (on the back side), remove caliper, bracket, pads, and rotor, reassemble. don't pay someone to do it, way too easy!

Gr1m 07-02-2009 12:48 PM

yes, very easy, the only thing is that your going to need a decent sized C clamp (i use a 6" clamp) in order to compress the caliper piston back into the cylinder. auto parts stores sell kits for over $75 to accomplish this but the same can be had for a $5 C-clamp

lonnie 07-02-2009 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 99alerogirl (Post 475836)
cake...remove wheel, undo the 2 bolts for the caliper, and the 2 for the mounting bracket (on the back side), remove caliper, bracket, pads, and rotor, reassemble. don't pay someone to do it, way too easy!

It's not that easy to someone that may not have done it before or watched someone do it. Plus you are leaving out some important details...like compressing the piston with a c-clamp, and not disconnecting the brake line or he will have to bleed them, also he will have to pump the brakes to build the pressure up...etc. Do a search on here about brakes and you should find a detailed how to or steps to do it. Good Luck!

99alerogirl 07-02-2009 12:50 PM

yeah... when i did my brakes my calipers were getting done too (they were crap), and they didn't need compressed... cause they were trash haha.

Redog 07-02-2009 02:12 PM

Take off the wheel