Aleromod.com

Aleromod.com (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/forum.php)
-   How-To Archive & FAQ (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   How to: Install your new sway bars! (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35940)

03Sleepr 05-21-2012 10:41 PM

How to: Install your new sway bars!

First off, I'm not a professional mechanic but I hope I was thorough enough for any novice mechanic to be able to do this. if not, feel free to PM me or ask in comments.

If I did something the hard way/stupid way. correct me.

List of things you will will need:
Jack, using two is preferred for lowering subframe.
Jack stands (4)

4-way.
3/8 ratchet
2" extension
15mm deep socket
1/2 inch socket
18mm socket
13/16 socket
3/8 open end wrench
Seems like I used more than this?

sway bars, bushings, grease that came with them.

Power tools are a God-send.

Time.

First, Break lugs loose(don't remove) and jack up your car and place SECURELY on jack stands ( I had 4, if you only have two then alternate between front and rear and be sure to BLOCK YOUR WHEELS) remove wheels.

Note: since I was cheap while installing struts and spring I now have to change strut mounts, so I had strut assemblies removed during this process.

Rear, this is by far the easier bar to install

first, remove your end links from both sides (15mm)

next are the two inside mounts, 1 bolt each 15mm.

now you can remove your rear bar and replace with your new bar/bushings starting with the inside mounts. for the two mounts you have to slide the tab on top into the slot then bolt it down. replace end links, DONE.

now for the "FUN" bar.
looking at the drivers side A-arm
you will need two ratchets or wrenches both 1/2" to remove this bushing.

now time to lower the subframe. place your jack under one section and put pressure on the subframe, but not enough to raise the car off of the jack stands, remove these four 15mm bolts (2 on each side)