Aleromod.com

Aleromod.com (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/forum.php)
-   New Member Introductions (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   2002 Alero GX Coupe (http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38288)

jasonargo 12-28-2014 01:59 PM

2002 Alero GX Coupe

Hi, I'm a new 2002 Alero GX owner, and here's my story (Hi Jason!). I went over a curb a few weeks ago with my 2001 Mustang, and the insurance company totalled it instead of repairing it. I really liked that car, but it was time to move on. I'm semi-retired (read: broke) and got less than $4k for the settlement on the Mustang. I'm not a mechanic, so used car shopping needed to include a (paid by me) trip to my mechanic for a check-out.

I drove a couple Monte Carlos that had obvious issues, and took a Grand Am GT to the mechanic with disastrous results (rust, leaks, gas tank hanging by a thread), so I was getting a bit frustrated. I was also finding a lot of folks not willing to let their cars be inspected, which was a deal breaker for me, especially in light of the GA results. And a lot of black cars for sale - who buys black cars in Texas?

I had previously owned a 1988 Grand Am which worked fine until I sunk a lot of bad money into engine replacements, so I knew the Alero was basically an Olds version of the GA. I even drove one during the car shopping I did back when I ended up with the Mustang.