Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > General Help > Common Questions & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2017, 07:04 PM   #1
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
hazard Warning switch Bracket/Plate

The plastic bracket is busted up, and I don't want to pay $25.00 or more
for the plate.
I broke the red button off the switch too, so really I need that too.
But it still functions. (I lost the red button part so far, so can't glue it either)
I looked at the wiring, but I couldn't tell for sure, I see what looks like several switches inside the Hazard switch, (unless those are controlled by a relay, wishful thinking< I think.....lol)
What I was hoping is I just needed to jump two wires at the switch for the hazards to work, then I could just wire in a toggle switch, and zip tie the
hazard switch in there somewhere. I don't want to put the money into it right now, funds are real tight right now.
Of course, I don't really see how jumping 2 wires, could send power to all 4 corners of the car, so I take it the power is distributed at the hazard switch, not the multi function switch.
I might make a metal bracket, and plan it out, and zip tie the switch
to the bracket, or Go to the Pick and Pull junk yard, and take a chance?
I don't look forward to that junk yard either though, last time I went it was super muddy, and we have had lots of rain this past 2 weeks.
Thanks,
Anthony
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 06:49 AM   #2
Nas Escobar
GLS member
 
Nas Escobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,460
Nas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond repute
So you basically need the bezel where the button is located?

And yes, the hazard switch acts as the relay for the blinkers. That has to be fixed for the whole setup to work. You can always get a new hazard switch at the parts store. Advance Auto Parts has promo codes to lower your price.
__________________
2̶0̶0̶3̶ ̶P̶o̶n̶t̶i̶a̶c̶ ̶G̶r̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶A̶m̶
1994 Olds Cutlass Supreme
2̶0̶0̶2̶ ̶C̶h̶e̶v̶r̶o̶l̶e̶t̶ ̶C̶a̶m̶a̶r̶o̶
1996 Infiniti G20
1993 Chevrolet Lumina Z34
1989 Buick Regal Limited
Nas Escobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:04 AM   #3
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nas Escobar View Post
So you basically need the bezel where the button is located?

And yes, the hazard switch acts as the relay for the blinkers. That has to be fixed for the whole setup to work. You can always get a new hazard switch at the parts store. Advance Auto Parts has promo codes to lower your price.

Yeah, well it's not the bezel, but the plastic bracket that holds the switch in in the back.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:12 AM   #4
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
I know I can get the switch,
and GM wants about $30.00 for the bracket.
believe it or not, I really cant spare the cash right now,
Till the 3 of next month.
I wish Dorman or someone made the aftermarket bracket that holds the switch in.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 02:27 PM   #5
Nas Escobar
GLS member
 
Nas Escobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,460
Nas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond reputeNas Escobar has a reputation beyond repute
I feel ya man, I'm in a similar boat. My budget is super tight at the moment.

I'll keep you in mind if I make a junkyard run. I have to plan my upcoming week since I need to get some stuff for my car.

If I'm able to get it, would you want just the bracket or the hazard switch as well?
__________________
2̶0̶0̶3̶ ̶P̶o̶n̶t̶i̶a̶c̶ ̶G̶r̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶A̶m̶
1994 Olds Cutlass Supreme
2̶0̶0̶2̶ ̶C̶h̶e̶v̶r̶o̶l̶e̶t̶ ̶C̶a̶m̶a̶r̶o̶
1996 Infiniti G20
1993 Chevrolet Lumina Z34
1989 Buick Regal Limited
Nas Escobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 03:53 PM   #6
Oldsnut
Aleromod Old Fart & Owner
 
Oldsnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Aurora, IL.
Posts: 8,061
Oldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond reputeOldsnut has a reputation beyond repute
Cant you get it at a salvage yard?
__________________

Final 500 #448-OCA Preservation Class Winner, Final 500 Alero #219, '71 442 Convertible, Final 500 Aurora #62
I am officially addicted to Olds

Oldsnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 03:57 PM   #7
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nas Escobar View Post
I feel ya man, I'm in a similar boat. My budget is super tight at the moment.

I'll keep you in mind if I make a junkyard run. I have to plan my upcoming week since I need to get some stuff for my car.

If I'm able to get it, would you want just the bracket or the hazard switch as well?

IDK , probably Both.
I drilled a hole in that plastic panel to the left, and zip tied it in for now.
I got too impatient and broke the center A/C vent pretty good too.
so Now I need that. That car is "Rattty" looking enough as it is, with out
the center vent busted up.....LOL

I even pulled the radio, and couldn't feel the clips.
I see where they are now.
So, I'll probably hit the You pull it next week.
Thanks for the offer though.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 04:00 PM   #8
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldsnut View Post
Cant you get it at a salvage yard?

Yeah, I'll have to Now.
See my post above.
I busted the center vent now.
That car is rough enough looking as it is, without the center vent broke.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 04:21 PM   #9
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
I even read this, about the clips on the bottom .
http://oldsmobileforum.com/forum/ale...-removal-3156/
I know I had that center vent out before, because I replaced the Hazard switch before.
guess I was more patient back then................................lol

What does GM call that center vent, just a A/C center vent?
Didn't see on on e bay either. Thought it would be pretty common.
they probably already broke all of them.
Probably pricey if you can even get it new at the dealer.

I'll probably wait, and go to the junkyard in the spring.
Last time I was out there, I think it was this time of year, I had to go through 6 to 8 inches of mud, (and there was no way around it) and it was very frustrating.

I was looking for a window motor, but they were all already gone.
I was out there for something else already.
It needs the whole regulator and the two clips you glue on the window,
they are pretty reasonable on e bay though.

Last edited by mrbreezeet1 : 01-19-2017 at 04:35 PM.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:35 PM   #10
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
I know what I wanted to ask.
Is the 99 to 04 Grand Am center vent the same as the Alero?
On a side note, I am mad at myself for breaking that vent.
I need to be more patient.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 08:36 PM   #11
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
Looking to buy reasonably, the bracket that holds the hazard warning switch in, and the switch itself, and I also need the center A/C vent, (got inpatient and broke it)
I know they could all ship on a Padded Flat rate Envelope, for about $7.00
I would be grateful!
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 06:48 PM   #12
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
Parts Found Thanks To All

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbreezeet1 View Post
Looking to buy reasonably, the bracket that holds the hazard warning switch in, and the switch itself, and I also need the center A/C vent, (got inpatient and broke it)
I know they could all ship on a Padded Flat rate Envelope, for about $7.00
I would be grateful!
Parts Found
Yeah, I went to the "You Pull IT" Today, they had a Few Alleros, and a few Grand Am's
"Just for fun" I looked at the Grand Am., different Hazard all together, Different vents all Together. Has the separate Round vents, like 3 of them in the center IIRC.
He charged me (well they charge a dollar to get in)
$10.00 for the Vent, the plastic bracket, and I took the switch too.
Only thing, the plastic bracket is starting to crack on one side,
I'm gonna glue it, and wrap electrical tape around it.....
But I dropped my 7mm 1/4" drive semi deep, So looking for that, found about $2.00 in change...................LOL...........I did find my socket too,
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 03:40 PM   #13
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
What glue do you guys think is better for that black plastic bracket?
I have no clue what type of plastic it is.
Do you think JB weld, Or Super glue?
I plan on about 10 wraps of electrical tape after I'm done, to Beef the bracket up, and absorb some of the impact to the plastic bracket.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 08:36 AM   #14
03Alerosil
GL Member
 
03Alerosil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 590
03Alerosil is on a distinguished road
When I replaced mine a few month ago I found that it was already broken up pretty bad. So when i carefully installed my new switch i just glued it together with Gorilla glue gel and wrapped it in electrical tape. Worked just fine. I rarely use the hazards so i just needed it to stay in place for the turn signals to work. i will tell ya, if that switch ever goes bad in the time that I own this car, I'm just going to unplug the switch in the dash and plug in the new switch and let it sit behind the dash. Way too much of a pain in the ass for me and my very large hands lol. I even broke the dash vent, although you can't tell.
__________________
Stock 2003 3.4 alero. Pioneer 3400ub. Pioneer 4 way 6x9s. Pioneer 3 way 4x6s. 800 watt JVC amp powering 2 12" MTX Audio terminators.
03Alerosil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 09:28 AM   #15
mrbreezeet1
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Moundsville WV
Posts: 42
mrbreezeet1 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Alerosil View Post
When I replaced mine a few month ago I found that it was already broken up pretty bad. So when i carefully installed my new switch i just glued it together with Gorilla glue gel and wrapped it in electrical tape. Worked just fine. I rarely use the hazards so i just needed it to stay in place for the turn signals to work. i will tell ya, if that switch ever goes bad in the time that I own this car, I'm just going to unplug the switch in the dash and plug in the new switch and let it sit behind the dash. Way too much of a pain in the ass for me and my very large hands lol. I even broke the dash vent, although you can't tell.
Yeah, I removed the broken piece, filed down the mating area, put the switch in place and used jb weld and when it got hard, took about 18 inches of black tape around the switch.
I think I can even replace it again if need be.
There is that plastic bracelet to the left of the switch, you can drill 2 holes in it, and zip tie the new switch in place, and still use it.. That's how mine is now.
Yeah when I broke mine, I got mad, and then busted it up too bad. It looked too ratty..... Lol
On the new vent, I took some angle out of the Clips (made them flatter ) so it will come out easier next time. I'm sure It will stay in there Ok.
mrbreezeet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.