Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > General Help > Alero Appearance

Old 05-11-2008, 09:04 AM   #1
jcrules78
GX Member

jcrules78 is on a distinguished road
Body work suggestions

Hi, I own a 2000 Alero GL Coupe. I have put off fixing a rust spot that formed on what would be the rear quarter area right after the door and just above the side skirting. Now I have noticed a small hole developing and rust bubbles appearing under the paint behind the bare spot going all the way to the rear right tire. I was wondering if anyone here has done their own body work and what products they might suggest. There is a small hole, so I am wondering if I should buy some sort of product to patch it, and if so, what do people suggest. I also am looking for a good quality paint that is a near perfect match for the stock silvermist metallic (code U 331D) color. I know that some of the paints out there are crap. I am just a backyard mechanic, so I don't have access to a paint sprayer, so I will need paint I can apply by brush or spray can. Finally, if the repair job comes out looking cruddy, I might try and find some sort of decal, vinyl or decorative panel to place along the base of the doors above the skirts. Anybody know of a company that makes nice looking decals/vinyls for Aleros? Thanks in advance for any opinions/suggestions.
JCRULZ
jcrules78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 09:12 AM   #2
bdyman
GLS member

bdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond reputebdyman has a reputation beyond repute
ok first off its called a rocker panle molding, now the only correct way to remove rust is A. sand blasting B. removing the rust with a grinder