Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > Main Forums > New Member Introductions

Old 01-09-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
xnick
GX Member

xnick is on a distinguished road
New here, got some questions!

Hey guys, glad I found this place!
First off - I'm 19, from Niagara Falls NY, I'm a PHP Developer and in school. I'm going to be purchasing a 03 Alero GLS with 100k on it in March - it belongs to my mom and she's going to be upgrading to a truck, and since it was the car I learned to drive in and I loved it, I'm jumping at the chance to take it off her hands! I offered her $4,000 for it, as the trade-in value was around $3,000. She bought the car new and babied it, so I know it'll be a strong runner. Already had the intake gaskets done around 85k.

I'm new to the 3400s - kind of. I recently sold my 2000 Impala LS with a 3800, it was slightly modded I also have a 1993 Olds Cutlass Ciera S, great condition with 45k original miles, 2nd owner. (pics at end of post) Since Impala's also came with LA1s, I learned a lot about them in the process of learning about and modding my L36 engine, however I never really cared too much to pay attention to them (sorry guys!) I also have a 2008 Silverado LS, but it's my dad's - however he lives 1300 miles away in Florida and the truck stays at my garage in NY, so it's mine

I have some questions regarding the car, hopefully some things I can gather while I'm waiting to get the car (My moms in the process of buying a new house, going to sell it to me once finalized (1 week!) and settled).

First thing I wanna do it struts all around, and a nice drop on it. My first question is what is the best strut available for the N-body? Do we have an adjustable strut option? Best lowering springs? Any coil-overs? Not looking to bag so that's out of the question. As usual I'd like to keep the costs low but quality comes first!