Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > General Help > Audio, Video & Security

Old 03-28-2005, 09:39 AM   #1
violentrapture
V.I.P. Member

violentrapture is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to violentrapture
Hi,
I'm new to aleromod.com. I've spent the last couple of days reading the forums, and I must say - well done y'all! Absolutely blew me away with all the information and activity. Well, let me get down to business.
I recently bought a 1999 Alero with 65k on it. It has the 4 cylinder, so it's not going to be a performance beast. What I'm looking towards now is building a nice audio system for it. I have a couple of ideas in mind, and wanted to bounce them off of you guys and get some feedback, as well as ideas about components.

First off, I was looking at this head unit:
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-Pjn8unPr7AK/c...00&I=500CDA9851

Crutchfield says it doesn't fit, but I read a topic on here where someone said that if you wanted a certain one, you could make it fit. However, I'm not too familiar with car audio really, I've always just heard that Alpine is really good - so if there's a better one, please advise. As far as cost, around $400 or under would be good.

Cabin speakers - I'm completely up in the air on this one. I read somewhere that there are 4x6 in the front, and 6x9 in the back - if so, I'd appreciate suggestions for replacements. Cost isn't really an issue on these, as most replacement speakers this size aren't very much - maybe a couple hundred per set. Also, should I get an amp for the cabin speakers?