Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > General Help > Audio, Video & Security

Old 11-12-2009, 01:40 PM   #1
iTz Amazing
GX Member

iTz Amazing is on a distinguished road
Sub Box Noob

So I recently hooked up my sub box loaded with 2 MTX 12s but I have them in a pretty crappy ported box, I would really prefer a sealed box, so i was wondering if there is a good way to seal it myself, or should i go out and buy a new box.

I was considering making somthing up real quick with some duct tape or somthing for now.
Old 11-12-2009, 01:44 PM   #2
DansGen1Alero
GL Member

DansGen1Alero is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to DansGen1Alero Send a message via Yahoo to DansGen1Alero Send a message via Skype™ to DansGen1Alero
Im not a box expert......ryanfromohio may be able to assist, but I dont think you can just seal a ported box...diff airspace needed and all.

"Vinyl belongs on the side of a house not on a car"
DansGen1Alero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 02:05 PM   #3
jayson_waltz
GLS member

jayson_waltz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jayson_waltz
yes different airspace is need for a sealed box. and not all subs are meant to be in a sealed box, you'd have to find out if yours are able to. if the box is crappy, either find out the airspace you need and build your own, or go buy one. i don't know why you'd want sealed though, it will be a ton quieter.

post up the exact model of your subs so i can find the specs for them.
jayson_waltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 02:14 PM   #4
Cashdollar2009
GL Member

Cashdollar2009 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTz Amazing View Post
I was considering making somthing up real quick with some duct tape or somthing for now.