Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > Performance Related > Forced Induction Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2011, 02:15 PM   #1
BlackV6
GX Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
BlackV6 is on a distinguished road
MAP sensor and adapter

I need to replace my 2002 3400 MAP to a 2 bar 3500 type. Does anyone have a part # and a source for an adapter to go from my 3400 harness to a 3500 style MAP
Thank you in adavance.
BlackV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:00 PM   #2
BlackV6
GX Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
BlackV6 is on a distinguished road
Beuller....Beuller ?
BlackV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 02:44 PM   #3
01OldsAleroGt
GLS member
 
01OldsAleroGt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Posts: 1,127
01OldsAleroGt is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to 01OldsAleroGt Send a message via MSN to 01OldsAleroGt Send a message via Yahoo to 01OldsAleroGt
since you are a fellow florida amodder, look up WOT-Tech, Ben just relocated down here to Florida
__________________
2001 Oldsmobile Alero GL Sedan LA1 3400 SFI V6
Nickname : Midnyte
01OldsAleroGt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:16 AM   #4
BlackV6
GX Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
BlackV6 is on a distinguished road
Thanks
BlackV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:35 AM   #5
jabartram
AutoCross Alero
 
jabartram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Texas
Posts: 2,759
jabartram is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jabartram Send a message via Yahoo to jabartram
i got both the new style sensor and pigtail off of ebay, and made my own hold down.
jabartram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:53 PM   #6
BlackV6
GX Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
BlackV6 is on a distinguished road
You dont remember the part # for the new style 2 or 3 bar do you. I can fab a bracket. Thank so much
BlackV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:02 PM   #7
MMGT1
GLS member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,319
MMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond repute
I didn't think our PCM could support a 2 BAR MAP? In the PCM they top out at 140 or so I think. Is that high enough to support a 2 BAR? Also, if you delete the MAF these things go into SD mode banging gears at full pressure. This is why tuning MAP in the 3400 is such a bitch to do. You will destroy a factory trans mount in no time. If the car is not banging gears, you are not in the right mode to tune it, sucks!
MMGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:04 PM   #8
[ion] C2
much fast - wow
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 11,518
[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute
You use HPTuners and scale the values. The transmission should be a non-issue as well, I would assume.
[ion] C2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:20 PM   #9
MMGT1
GLS member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,319
MMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Mind posting a screen shot of your MAP table? I'm curious now. I have herd of the guys scaling the MAP, but never knew if it would actually work. This is why I am using a MAF in my install. I am using the MAF from a Cobalt/Malibu/Corvette so I can get a poper reading out of it all the way to max air flow....
Tables are available from the guys on HP now for whatever size tube you install it in and there is even a guy kicking there now that is making the Honeycomb to fit any size piping I choose to use, pretty sweet actually!
MMGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:41 PM   #10
[ion] C2
much fast - wow
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 11,518
[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute[ion] C2 has a reputation beyond repute
As you can see, I don't have a 3400. I don't need to scale any values because I have a 2-bar tune based on the GMPP supercharger kit tune.
[ion] C2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:51 PM   #11
AleroB888
GLS member
 
AleroB888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Knox area, KY
Posts: 2,099
AleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMGT1 View Post
I didn't think our PCM could support a 2 BAR MAP? In the PCM they top out at 140 or so I think. Is that high enough to support a 2 BAR? Also, if you delete the MAF these things go into SD mode banging gears at full pressure. This is why tuning MAP in the 3400 is such a bitch to do. You will destroy a factory trans mount in no time. If the car is not banging gears, you are not in the right mode to tune it, sucks!


Not only the MAP table, but the spark tables get maxed out as well. I've got a post somewhere in this sub-forum that discussed that, I'll look for it....

http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?p=516593&highlight=scan+graph#post5 16593
__________________
1999 GLS MP90 supercharged / 2003 GL MP62 supercharged / 2004 GLS stock
Magnuson MP90 / TOG's / 3 in. Magnaflow exhaust / MSD ignition / LS1 MAF / Racetronix pump / HP Tuners / TCE 68mm TB / 36 lb Inj
= Best track time: 12.951 @ 104.48, 1.839 60 ft. (Beech Bend Raceway Park, 11-23-13), 50 Deg. F
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpVYZPbpPzk

Last edited by AleroB888 : 07-01-2011 at 04:04 PM.
AleroB888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:34 PM   #12
MMGT1
GLS member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,319
MMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by AleroB888 View Post
Not only the MAP table, but the spark tables get maxed out as well. I've got a post somewhere in this sub-forum that discussed that, I'll look for it....

http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?p=516593&highlight=scan+graph#post5 16593

See, thats what Im talking about. So putting a 2-3 bar map on the car is pretty useless. That's terrible that you have to give up power due to a limit in the pcm with that table. What you have in there about it carrying the final value is right. Once exceeded, it will just hold that value.
MMGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:54 AM   #13
unchained01
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: maryland
Posts: 181
unchained01 is on a distinguished road
the is it limited with an aftermarket device ? say a MS ? gotta get in touch with blkgagt on GAGT forum or ask milzy he put down 400 hp on the dyno and i am interested in seeing if he maxed his table out too AaronGTR is another good one to ask and he has plenty if scans to tell ya

Last edited by unchained01 : 07-02-2011 at 12:06 PM.
unchained01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:06 PM   #14
MMGT1
GLS member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,319
MMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond repute
I know Milzy is running a piggy back that he designed himself on his. Pretty sure he is making it available to the public too.
MMGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 08:37 AM   #15
BlackV6
GX Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 39
BlackV6 is on a distinguished road
If I am only running 10-15 lbs of boost, you are saying that the 3400 computer cannot be tuned to see a 2 bar MAP?
Even with a third party software such as HPTuners?
BlackV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 01:22 PM   #16
AleroB888
GLS member
 
AleroB888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Knox area, KY
Posts: 2,099
AleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond reputeAleroB888 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackV6 View Post
If I am only running 10-15 lbs of boost, you are saying that the 3400 computer cannot be tuned to see a 2 bar MAP?
Even with a third party software such as HPTuners?

You can get by with a stock 3400 PCM at 10-12 lbs boost, provided your boost control is very accurate and fail-safe. The results won't be optimum, but still allows for pretty good performance. 15 pounds is pushing it past the limit, with real potential for damage, unless you dial back the timing.

I have not kept up with the latest stuff available on HP Tuners. Tinytuner may have more options, though.
__________________
1999 GLS MP90 supercharged / 2003 GL MP62 supercharged / 2004 GLS stock
Magnuson MP90 / TOG's / 3 in. Magnaflow exhaust / MSD ignition / LS1 MAF / Racetronix pump / HP Tuners / TCE 68mm TB / 36 lb Inj
= Best track time: 12.951 @ 104.48, 1.839 60 ft. (Beech Bend Raceway Park, 11-23-13), 50 Deg. F
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpVYZPbpPzk
AleroB888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 02:39 PM   #17
unchained01
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: maryland
Posts: 181
unchained01 is on a distinguished road
Tiny tuner does support 2 bar map sensor
unchained01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 07:55 PM   #18
kwhauck
2Screwy
 
kwhauck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 13,238
kwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond repute
Bump since I need this in a couple weeks......lol
__________________
kwhauck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:24 PM   #19
unchained01
GX Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: maryland
Posts: 181
unchained01 is on a distinguished road
You need what Kyle ? Map sensor part number ? Tiny tuner ?
unchained01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:27 PM   #20
kwhauck
2Screwy
 
kwhauck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 13,238
kwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond reputekwhauck has a reputation beyond repute
Map sensor pigtail for 3400-3500 sensor connection, I have like 3 3500 map sensors, and I do need tiny tuners eventually, plus I was gonna go back and read some of Greg's tuning posts....
__________________
kwhauck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.