Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > General Help > Product Reviews

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2011, 05:38 AM   #1
mastershake
GL Member
 
mastershake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 414
mastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond repute
cheap abs scanner?

does anyone know of a cheap effective abs scanner? i just need to know which one of my speed sensors is bad. if there isnt anything cheaper than getting it diagnosed at a shop i'll just do that..
mastershake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 11:25 AM   #2
zzyzzx
GLS member
 
zzyzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 5,418
zzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond repute
Being able to read ABS codes is why I bought a more expensive OBD2 code reader.

You can buy separate ABS scanners like this one though:
http://www.amazon.com/Actron-CP9449-.../dp/B000YJ053O
zzyzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:47 PM   #3
mastershake
GL Member
 
mastershake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 414
mastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond repute
i was looking at that. i will probably end up buying it, i hope its not a piece of crap xD
mastershake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:58 PM   #4
zzyzzx
GLS member
 
zzyzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 5,418
zzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond repute
There was someone else here who said that simply called around to different Autozone's until they found one that was using the OBD2 scanner that also did ABS, so they just drove to that one to get their ABS codes read.
zzyzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 02:31 PM   #5
Mike The Canadian
GL Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 298
Mike The Canadian is on a distinguished road
Does that thing do other BCM codes or strictly ABS?
__________________
Mike The Canadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 03:59 PM   #6
zzyzzx
GLS member
 
zzyzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 5,418
zzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond repute
For $68.10, it only does ABS codes, I would think. Ones that do everything like that (ABS and OBD) cost more like a minimum of $200 (I just bought one, so that's how I know). I am not sure what you mean by BCM

The Actron ABS BrakeScan connects to the OBD-II port on most domestic vehicles 1996 and newer. It diagnoses the brake control module, ABS pump motor, brake switch, wheel speed sensors, ABS solenoids, vehicle speed sensors and more.

Last edited by zzyzzx : 11-03-2011 at 04:01 PM.
zzyzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 08:39 PM   #7
MMGT1
GLS member
 
MMGT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,319
MMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond reputeMMGT1 has a reputation beyond repute
imo... spend the 150 and get one that reads your full car. Owning a car more than 4 years old; I say you spend the money on one. It's in the age range where a scaner that has the ability to do both is what you want. Again, just my 2-cnts
... or buy an ohms meter and check it yourself!
__________________
A SS looks like it could kick your ass if it wanted to, but a WS6 looks like it's coming over to do it
MMGT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:34 AM   #8
zzyzzx
GLS member
 
zzyzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 5,418
zzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMGT1 View Post
imo... spend the 150 and get one that reads your full car. Owning a car more than 4 years old; I say you spend the money on one. It's in the age range where a scaner that has the ability to do both is what you want. Again, just my 2-cnts
... or buy an ohms meter and check it yourself!


You can read OBD2 codes with a ohms meter???
zzyzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 08:14 AM   #9
mastershake
GL Member
 
mastershake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 414
mastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond repute
got it in the mail today, wow that was fast! yes it does also read brake codes (had a low brake fluid code stored)
mastershake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:55 AM   #10
zzyzzx
GLS member
 
zzyzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
Posts: 5,418
zzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond reputezzyzzx has a reputation beyond repute
Please leave a review here and on Amazon. We will still want to know how good it works on an Alero and any other car you have. I.E. - plug it into every OBD2 car you have and see if it seems to work in all of them.
zzyzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:14 AM   #11
mastershake
GL Member
 
mastershake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 414
mastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond reputemastershake has a reputation beyond repute
well it's good for what it cost.. its way bigger than it looks online... doesn't show live data from wheel speed sensors but it does do what it says it does (for the alero). i believe it clears codes also. theres a list of cars it works on, so if your car is on it im sure it will work fine.
mastershake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.