Aleromod.com Aleromod.com

Go Back   Aleromod.com > Performance Related > L61 2.2L Ecotec Specific

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 05:32 PM   #1
AbHeLlRaZoR
Canada's Ghost
 
AbHeLlRaZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,831
AbHeLlRaZoR is on a distinguished road
Exclamation 2.2L (L61) Ecotec FAQ

Common Questions Related to the Ecotec Engine.

Q: Where is the oil filter located?
A: The oil filter housing is cast into the block you can find it at the front right of the engine you will need a 32 mm, 6 point wrench.

Q: What size is the Oil filter?
A: K&N P/N HP-7000.
AC Delco PF457G

Q: How many quarts of Oil does the Ecotec take?
A: 5 Quarts.

Q: What are ideal choices of spark plugs?
A: NGK Iridium part numbers
LTR5IX-11: Stock replacement
LTR6IX-11: One step colder
LTR7IX-11: Two steps colder
or
AC type 41-981 platinum, or equivalent @ 0.042 inch gap.

Q: What kind of coolant do I use?
A: It is recommended that you use Dex-cool Antifreeze 50/50 mix with demineralised water.

Q: How Much coolant do I need?
A: 8.6 quarts.

Q: What kind of power steering fluid do I use?
A: GM Power Steering Fluid GM P/N 89021184 (Canadian P/N 89021186) or equivalent.

Q: What is my Thermostat Temp?
A: Thermostat opening temp is 180 degrees F.

Q: What size serpentine belt do I need?
A: A 50405 belt.
Goodyear P/N 4050405
Gates P/N K050405
Dayco P/N 5050405

Q: What is the Compression Ratio?
A: 10:1

Q: What is the firing order?
A: 1,3,4,2

Q: What is the recommended octane?
A: Minimum unleaded gas 87 octane.

Q: what is the stock power output?
A: 140 HP @ 5600 RPM
145 TQ @ 4000 RPM

Q: Can I use Cavalier parts on my Ecotec engine
A: Yes you can, as long as they are for the Ecotec engine.

Q: What can I use to modify my air intake?
A: Many options are available K&N drop in filter P/N 33-2121-1 also see
http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38
A good choice is the Cosmo Racing WAI.

Q: Can I turbo charge my Ecotec?
A: yes you can either buy a Cavalier turbo kit from Hahn and other manufacturers,
or you can build a custom kit with the parts that you desire.

Q: Can I supercharge my Ecotec?
A: Yes you can, you can either find a remaining GM Performance Parts one some where,
or you can use the supercharger fro the 2.0L LSJ Ecotec tuning will be required either way.

Q: Where can I get a performance exhaust system?
A: Custom is the best route, different sized piping and different mufflers are widely available.

Q: Are there header(s) available?
A: Yes please see http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38
two common choices are the Pace Setter's and Tsudo's

Q: Is there a plug n play chip available for the Ecotec?
A: No the only way you can modify your PCM is with Hp-Tuners or having a stand alone fuel system

Q: Are there Cam Shafts available?
A: Yes Comp Cams has the largest selection, there are also other companies that have there own variants as well. Please see http://www.aleromod.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38

Q: Is the Ecotec nitrous friendly?
A: For the most part yes, any EFI wet kit for a 4 cylinder will work… I personally do not recommend nitrous for anyone new to the scene looking for cheap power, or anyone with a stock engine although it can be done.

Q: How much power can my Ecotec handle with stock internals?
A: I wouldn’t recommend exceeding 250 HP, your block, cylinder head, crank, and main girdle are good with out modifications up to 400 HP.

Q: Can I use parts from different Ecotec engines to make a hybrid?
A: Yes common swaps include 2.4L ecotec manifold swap to the 2.2L (2.4L LE5 manifolds prior to 08 flow better) 2.0L exhaust manifold swap to 2.2L (direct bolt on) modifications to connect to the down pipe may be required, and the 2.0L supercharger swap to the 2.2L.

For those looking to Turbocharge
a
useful link if you are going to build your own kit
http://www.ecotecforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35


__________________

Edited: 27/05/2014
************************************************** *******
Please P.M me with other common questions concerning the Ecotec engine I'll do my best to find the answer and add them to this thread ASAP.
************************************************** *******
__________________

Last edited by AbHeLlRaZoR : 05-27-2014 at 01:31 PM. Reason: Bad Links
AbHeLlRaZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
Vic28
GL Member
 
Vic28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Torrington, CT
Posts: 734
Vic28 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Vic28
PROPS
__________________
* 02 Gx 5-Speed - Supercharged *
Vic28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 06:31 PM   #3
Bad99Olds
New and Improved
 
Bad99Olds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,074
Bad99Olds is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Bad99Olds
great info for the newbies. well done.
Bad99Olds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:26 PM   #4
AleroDrime
The Aleromod PITA
 
AleroDrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Carolina University, GVegas, NC
Posts: 1,852
AleroDrime has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to AleroDrime Send a message via MSN to AleroDrime
thanks.
__________________
www.myspace.com/aarondudley_00 Feel Free To Add Say You're From Aleromod.com Though
http://www.cardomain.com/id/AleroRacingsCar Updated Aug 14 09
My Alero>My Reputation If I have a ?, I will Search and Ask. If it's not anserwed, I will make a thread. (No matter how silly my ? is to a Genius like you)
AleroDrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:37 PM   #5
AbHeLlRaZoR
Canada's Ghost
 
AbHeLlRaZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,831
AbHeLlRaZoR is on a distinguished road
thanks. I'm hoping it will cut back on the number of repeat topics in the Ecotec section.
__________________
AbHeLlRaZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:39 PM   #6
Bad99Olds
New and Improved
 
Bad99Olds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,074
Bad99Olds is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Bad99Olds
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbHeLlRaZoR View Post
thanks. I'm hoping it will cut back on the number of repeat topics in the Ecotec section.

well it doesnt hurt to dream...
Bad99Olds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:48 PM   #7
CactusWill
GLS member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 3,723
CactusWill is on a distinguished road
5 qts oil is overfilled, 4.5 filled mine to the full line and then some.
CactusWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:54 PM   #8
jayson_waltz
GLS member
 
jayson_waltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND for school; Langdon, ND home
Posts: 2,632
jayson_waltz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jayson_waltz
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbHeLlRaZoR View Post
Q: What size is the Oil filter?
A: K&N P/N HP-7000.
PF457G for the correct acdelco filter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CactusWill View Post
5 qts oil is overfilled, 4.5 filled mine to the full line and then some.
If i remember off the top of my head right, it is supposed to be 4.5.
__________________
2001 F150 XLT Crew Cab- true dual glasspacks with x-pipe, AEM intake, SCT X3 with VMP custom tunes, full stereo system, HID 55w heads and 35w fogs, 35% tint front and 20% rear, Lightning tail lights
04 F6 Sno Pro Team edition- MBRP race can, ODS clutch kit
01 YZ125- bored out to 144, PnP cylinder and head, Pro Circuit WORKS suspension, many other mods
jayson_waltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:58 PM   #9
AbHeLlRaZoR
Canada's Ghost
 
AbHeLlRaZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,831
AbHeLlRaZoR is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayson_waltz View Post
PF457G for the correct acdelco filter.

If i remember off the top of my head right, it is supposed to be 4.5.

Thanks, I added the oil filter, whats supposed to be 4.5?
__________________
AbHeLlRaZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:02 PM   #10
jayson_waltz
GLS member
 
jayson_waltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND for school; Langdon, ND home
Posts: 2,632
jayson_waltz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jayson_waltz
^amount of oil i'm pretty sure. only done a handful of ecos at work tho so its not memorized like lots of engines.
__________________
2001 F150 XLT Crew Cab- true dual glasspacks with x-pipe, AEM intake, SCT X3 with VMP custom tunes, full stereo system, HID 55w heads and 35w fogs, 35% tint front and 20% rear, Lightning tail lights
04 F6 Sno Pro Team edition- MBRP race can, ODS clutch kit
01 YZ125- bored out to 144, PnP cylinder and head, Pro Circuit WORKS suspension, many other mods
jayson_waltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:19 PM   #11
CactusWill
GLS member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 3,723
CactusWill is on a distinguished road
Eco has the internal filter, which does not add oil capacity like external filters. As soon as you turn the engine off and pop the hood to check the oil, its already drained back down into the pan. 4.5 qts that bitch is full.
CactusWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:26 PM   #12
AbHeLlRaZoR
Canada's Ghost
 
AbHeLlRaZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,831
AbHeLlRaZoR is on a distinguished road
really, every place I've read said 5 quarts...
__________________
AbHeLlRaZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:26 PM   #13
AleroDrime
The Aleromod PITA
 
AleroDrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Carolina University, GVegas, NC
Posts: 1,852
AleroDrime has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to AleroDrime Send a message via MSN to AleroDrime
autozone said 5 quarts and that wat i put and my dip stick is right at full
__________________
www.myspace.com/aarondudley_00 Feel Free To Add Say You're From Aleromod.com Though
http://www.cardomain.com/id/AleroRacingsCar Updated Aug 14 09
My Alero>My Reputation If I have a ?, I will Search and Ask. If it's not anserwed, I will make a thread. (No matter how silly my ? is to a Genius like you)
AleroDrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:26 AM   #14
heineck
A-mod Pirate
 
heineck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Big Bad Cali
Posts: 3,016
heineck will become famous soon enoughheineck will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to heineck
yepp 5 for me too thats how ive always done it
heineck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 02:45 AM   #15
Cliff8928
Moderator
 
Cliff8928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Grove, IL
Posts: 5,003
Cliff8928 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Cliff8928 Send a message via AIM to Cliff8928
5 Quarts here too..
__________________
Cliff Scott
2004 Alero GX w/sport pkg - Sold, living somewhere in WI now.
2011 Saab 9-5 Turbo4 M6
2004 Corvette Convertible M6
1994 Chevy Beretta - Quad4/M5
Cliff8928 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 03:41 AM   #16
CactusWill
GLS member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 3,723
CactusWill is on a distinguished road
When I put 5 quarts in, the oil was over the guage part of the dipstick and onto the braided middle part.


Adding .5 quarts extra isn't going to hurt anything, but I like to keep the oil level spot on to the dipstick readings, so that I can monitor for potential oil consumption.
CactusWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 04:22 PM   #17
cherrington17
Gone
 
cherrington17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lockport Ny
Posts: 19,244
cherrington17 has a spectacular aura aboutcherrington17 has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to cherrington17
adding a half quart too much will not kill your car.
__________________
Frequently Asked Questions
...You only stop learning when your dead...
cherrington17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:54 PM   #18
AbHeLlRaZoR
Canada's Ghost
 
AbHeLlRaZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,831
AbHeLlRaZoR is on a distinguished road
I hope once everyone is done flaming AR this thread will be cleaned, being I made it on a serious topic.
__________________
AbHeLlRaZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:55 PM   #19
heineck
A-mod Pirate
 
heineck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Big Bad Cali
Posts: 3,016
heineck will become famous soon enoughheineck will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to heineck
yea props for the info
heineck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:05 AM   #20
Valley olds
GLS member
 
Valley olds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Roma, TX
Posts: 1,541
Valley olds is an unknown quantity at this point
Hey, I dont know if this is worth it, but maybe in the hybrid part, you could add the LSJ exhaust manifold to the list. From what Ive seen, our OEM manifold has a D shape on the outlet, while the LSJ manifold has an O outlet. Im doing this swap in a couple weeks. Ill try and post pics.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/id/nothingbutolds
Cleared corners-RF P1 Subs- RF 201S Amp- Memphis Audio 4x6's and 6x9's-JVC Arsenal KD-APD89 Head Unit-front and rear z-spec strut tower brace- KYB GR2 struts- Intrax Springs- Magnaflow Muffler
Valley olds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.